Today is -

Swain Biograph

Cathrine SWAIN

Age Date

Details

Abt 1801 She was born in Shearsby, Leicestershire, England
1801 General Election in Great Britain
Wed 4 Mar 1801 Thomas Jefferson became 4th President of U.S.A.
Sat 21 Mar 1801 Henry Addington became Prime Minister (Tory)
1 1802 General Election in Great Britain
3 Wed 16 May 1804 William Pitt returned as Prime Minister (Tory)
3 Fri 18 May 1804 Napoleon Bonaparte was proclaimed Emperor of France
4 Mon 4 Mar 1805 Thomas Jefferson began second term as President of U.S.A.
4 Sat 5 Oct 1805 Admiral Lord Nelson died at Battle of Trafalgar
5 1806 General Election in Great Britain
5 Jan 1806 Death of William Pitt
5 Mon 10 Feb 1806 Lord Grenville became Prime Minister of Coalition Government
6 1807 General Election in Great Britain
6 Tue 31 Mar 1807 Duke of Portland became Prime Minister (Tory)
6 Sun 17 May 1807 Her future husband, John HAMMONDS was baptised in Dadlington, Leicestershire, England
8 1809 South Stack lighthouse built
8 Wed 6 Dec 1809 James Madison became 6th President of U.S.A.
8 Wed 6 Dec 1809 Spencer Perceval became Prime Minister (Tory)
9 Thu 25 Oct 1810 Golden Jubilee of George III
10 Tue 5 Feb 1811 Act of Regency proclaimed George IV Head of State
11 1812 General Election in Great Britain
11 1812 Mill owner William Horsfall shot and killed by Luddites in Huddersfield. Seventeen men sentenced to hang at York
11 1812 Prime Minister Spencer Perceval shot and killed by John Bellingham a mentally deranged commercial agent who was acclaimed by the Luddites as a hero
11 Tue 16 Jun 1812 Earl of Liverpool became Prime Minister (Tory)
11 Tue 28 Jul 1812 Rose's Act (52 Geo.III. Cap. 146.) passed requiring separate registers for Baptisms & Burials
12 Thu 4 Mar 1813 James Madison began second term as President of U.S.A.
14 Sun 18 Jun 1815 Final defeat of Napoleon at the Battle of Waterloo by Wellington and Blucher
14 Mon 23 Oct 1815 His granddaughter, Elizabeth BLOOD married John MIDDLETON in Carlton by Market Bosworth, Leicestershire, England
16 Tue 4 Mar 1817 James Monroe became 8th President of U.S.A.
17 1818 General Election in Great Britain
19 1820 General Election in Great Britain
19 Sat 29 Jan 1820 Accession of George IV when George III died at Windsor Castle
20 Sun 4 Mar 1821 James Monroe began second term as President of U.S.A.
24 Fri 4 Mar 1825 John Quincy Adams became 10th President of U.S.A.
25 1826 The 286 mile A5 from London to Holyhead was completed by Thomas Telford. Journey time by horse-drawn coach: 27 hours
25 1826 Thomas Telford's Britannia Bridge opened
26 Mon 30 Apr 1827 George Canning became Prime Minister (Tory)
26 Sat 8 Sep 1827 Viscount Goderich became Prime Minister (Tory)
27 1828 General Election in Great Britain
27 Sat 26 Jan 1828 Duke of Wellington became Prime Minister (Tory)
27 Fri 10 Oct 1828 She married John HAMMONDS (aged 21) in St Mary PC, Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
28 Wed 4 Mar 1829 Andrew Jackson became 11th President of U.S.A.
28 Sat 25 Jul 1829 Her daughter, Elizabeth HAMMONDS was born in Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
29 Sat 26 Jun 1830 Accession of William IV on death of George IV
29 Jul 1830 General Election in Great Britain
29 Mon 15 Nov 1830 Wellington's government defeated
29 Wed 24 Nov 1830 Earl Grey became Prime Minister (Whig)
30 Abt 1831 Her daughter, Ann HAMMONDS was born in Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
30 May 1831 General Election in Great Britain
30 Sat 8 Oct 1831 Russell's Reform Bill defeated
30 Dec 1831 County freeholders-property worth 2 a year; County copyholders renting at 10 a year; County 10 leaseholders with 60 year leases; County 50 leaseholders with 20 year leases
31 Jun 1832 House of Lords reluctantly passed the Great Reform Bill abolishing 'Rotten Boroughs'
31 Dec 1832 General Election. Franchise: Borough householders-property worth 10 a year
32 Abt 1833 Her son, William HAMMONDS was born in Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
32 Mon 4 Mar 1833 Andrew Jackson began second term as President of U.S.A.
33 1834 Boards of Guardians set up to administer the Poor Law
33 Sun 13 Jul 1834 Viscount Melbourne became Prime Minister (Whig)
33 Fri 26 Dec 1834 Sir Robert Peel became Prime Minister (Tory)
34 Abt 1835 Her son, John HAMMONDS was born in Leicestershire, England
34 1835 General Election in Great Britain
34 Thu 1 Jan 1835 Strike in Cornish Tin Mines
34 Wed 18 Mar 1835 Viscount Melbourne became Prime Minister (Whig)
35 1836 Tithe Commutation Act allowed tithes to be commuted to a rent-charge
36 1837 General Election in Great Britain
36 Sat 4 Mar 1837 Martin van Buren became 13th President of U.S.A.
36 Tue 20 Jun 1837 Accession of Victoria on death of William IV
36 Sat 1 Jul 1837 Compulsory Civil Registration of Marriages and Deaths began in England & Wales
36 Sat 1 Jul 1837 Voluntary Civil Registration of Births began in England & Wales
40 Abt 1841 Her daughter, Emma HAMMONDS was born in Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
40 1841 General Election in Great Britain
40 Thu 4 Mar 1841 William Henry Harrison became 14th President of U.S.A.
40 Sun 4 Apr 1841 John Tyler became 15th President of U.S.A.
40 1841 CENSUS PREDICTION: Catherine HAMMONDS, Married, 40, Shearsby, Leicestershire, England
40 Sun 6 Jun 1841 Census in United Kingdom (Public Record HO 107) 1st to list names
40 Mon 6 Sep 1841 Sir Robert Peel became Prime Minister (Tory)
44 1845 Work started on 2.4 km Holyhead breakwater, designed by James Meadows Rendel and completed in 1873
44 Tue 4 Mar 1845 James K. Polk became 16th President of U.S.A.
45 Mon 6 Jul 1846 Lord John Russell became Prime Minister (Whig)
46 1847 General Election in Great Britain
46 1847 The oldest lifeboat station in Wales was built at Holyhead
47 Fri 31 Mar 1848 First Train to Holyhead from Llanfair P.G.
48 Sun 4 Mar 1849 Zachary Taylor became 17th President of U.S.A.
49 Tue 5 Mar 1850 Stephenson's Britannia Bridge for trains was opened after 4 years building
49 Tue 9 Jul 1850 Millard Fillimore became 18th President of U.S.A.
50 Sun 30 Mar 1851 Census in United Kingdom (Public Record HO 107) 1st to list relationships
50 Thu 1 May 1851 The Great Exhibition housed in the Crystal Palace in Hyde Park London was opened by Queen Victoria
51 Sat 28 Feb 1852 Earl of Derby became Prime Minister (Tory)
51 Jul 1852 General Election in Great Britain
51 Tue 14 Sep 1852 Duke of Wellington died at Walmer Castle, Kent
51 Tue 28 Dec 1852 Earl of Aberdeen became Prime Minister (Peelite)
52 Abt 1853 Her granddaughter, Catherine HAMMONDS was born in Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
52 Fri 4 Mar 1853 Franklin Pierce became 19th President of U.S.A.
54 1855 W.O. Stanley built Holyhead's Market Hall
54 Mon 1 Jan 1855 Civil Registration of Births/Marriages/Deaths began in Scotland
54 Sat 10 Feb 1855 Viscount Palmerston became Prime Minister (Liberal)
56 1857 General Election in Great Britain
56 Wed 4 Mar 1857 James Buchanan became 20th President of U.S.A.
Her son, William HAMMONDS partnered Mary Ann NO_SURNAME
57 Mon 11 Jan 1858 Civil jurisdiction of Probate came into effec
57 Thu 25 Feb 1858 Earl of Derby became Prime Minister (Conservative)
58 Abt 1859 Her granddaughter, Ellen HAMMONDS was born in Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
58 1859 General Election in Great Britain
58 1859 The sailing vessel 'Royal Charter' was sunk off Moelfre, Anglesey with loss of over 450 lives
58 Sat 18 Jun 1859 Viscount Palmerston's second Ministry (Liberal)
60 Abt 1861 Her daughter, Ann HAMMONDS married ? BAGWORTH
60 Abt 1861 Her granddaughter, Emma BAGWORTH was born in Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
60 Mon 4 Mar 1861 Abraham Lincoln became 21st President of U.S.A.
60 Sun 7 Apr 1861 Census in United Kingdom (Public Record RG 9)
60 Sun 27 Oct 1861 Her daughter, Elizabeth HAMMONDS married Charles MIDDLETON in P.C. Market Bosworth, Leicestershire, England
61 Fri 20 Jun 1862 Silver Jubilee of Victoria
61 Fri 8 Aug 1862 Her granddaughter, Emma MIDDLETON was born in Market Bosworth, Leicestershire, England
61 Sun 7 Sep 1862 Her granddaughter, Emma MIDDLETON was baptised in Market Bosworth, Leicestershire, England
62 Tue 10 Mar 1863 Prince of Wales (Edward VII) married Princess Alexandra of Denmark at Windsor
63 Wed 3 Aug 1864 Her granddaughter, Julia MIDDLETON was born in Market Bosworth, Leicestershire, England
63 Fri 14 Oct 1864 Her granddaughter, Julia MIDDLETON was baptised in PC. Market Bosworth, Leicestershire, England
64 1865 General Election in Great Britain
64 Sat 4 Mar 1865 Abraham Lincoln began second term as President of U.S.A.
64 Fri 14 Apr 1865 Abraham Lincoln shot through the head by John Wilkes Booth and died the following day
64 Sat 15 Apr 1865 Andrew Johnson became 23rd President of U.S.A.
64 Mon 6 Nov 1865 Earl Russell became Prime Minister (Liberal)
65 Abt 1866 Her grandson, William HAMMOND was born in Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
65 Fri 6 Jul 1866 Earl of Derby became Prime Minister (Conservative)
66 1867 Second Reform Act
67 1868 General Election in Great Britain under the new franchise: Male borough householders resident for 1 year; Borough heads of families in unfurnished rooms 10 a year; County owners and leaseholders rated at 5 a year; County tenants of property
67 Thu 27 Feb 1868 Benjamin Disraeli became Prime Minister (Conservative)
67 Wed 9 Dec 1868 William Gladstone became Prime Minister (Liberal)
68 Thu 4 Mar 1869 Ulysses S. Grant became 24th President of U.S.A.
68 Thu 1 Jul 1869 Her grandson, Reuben MIDDLETON was born in Market Bosworth, Leicestershire, England
68 Fri 5 Nov 1869 Her grandson, Reuben MIDDLETON was baptised in Market Bosworth, Leicestershire, England
70 1871 Her grandson, Walter MIDDLETON was baptised in Market Bosworth, Leicestershire, England
70 1871 Stanley sailor's hospital, Holyhead founded by public subscription
70 Sun 2 Apr 1871 Census in United Kingdom (Public Record RG 10)
70 Mon 30 Oct 1871 Her grandson, Walter MIDDLETON was born in Market Bosworth, Leicestershire, England
72 Wed 1 Jan 1873 Japan adopted the Gregorian Calendar (previously Japanese Calendar)
72 Tue 4 Mar 1873 Ulysses S. Grant began second term as President of U.S.A.
73 1874 General Election in Great Britain
73 Sat 21 Feb 1874 Benjamin Disraeli's second Ministry (Conservative)
74 1875 Civil registration of births became compulsory in England and Wales
76 Sun 4 Mar 1877 Rutherford B. Hayes became 26th President of U.S.A.
78 Wed 31 Dec 1879 Her husband, John HAMMONDS was buried in P.C. St.Mary's, Hinckley
79 Thu 1 Jan 1880 School attendance became compulsory up to the age of 10
79 Wed 28 Apr 1880 William Gladstone's second Ministry (Liberal)
79 Mon 20 Dec 1880 First Boer War began
80 Fri 4 Mar 1881 James A. Garfield became 27th President of U.S.A.
80 Wed 23 Mar 1881 First Boer War ended
80 Sun 3 Apr 1881 Census in United Kingdom (Public Record RG 11)
80 Tue 19 Apr 1881 Benjamin Disraeli (Lord Beaconsfield) died at Hughenden Buckinghamshire
80 Mon 19 Sep 1881 Chester A. Arthur became 28th President of U.S.A.
83 Dec 1884 Third Reform Act (Gladstone's Franchise Bill) passed after opposition from House of Lords
84 Wed 4 Mar 1885 Grover Cleveland became 29th President of U.S.A.
84 Wed 24 Jun 1885 Marquess of Salisbury became Prime Minister (Conservative)
84 Nov 1885 General Election in Great Britain under the new franchise (no overall majority): County male householders resident for 1 year; County heads of families in unfurnished rooms paying 10 a year
85 Sat 6 Feb 1886 William Gladstone's third Ministry (Liberal)
85 Jul 1886 General Election in Great Britain
85 Tue 3 Aug 1886 Marquess of Salisbury's second Ministry (Conservative)
86 Tue 12 Apr 1887 Her granddaughter, Julia MIDDLETON married Charles WRIGHT in P.C. Market Bosworth, Leicestershire, England
86 Mon 20 Jun 1887 Golden Jubilee of Victoria
Her granddaughter, Emma MIDDLETON partnered ? FAULKS
88 Mon 4 Mar 1889 Benjamin Harrison became 30th President of U.S.A.
90 Sun 5 Apr 1891 Census in United Kingdom (Public Record RG 12)
91 Aug 1892 General Election in Great Britain
91 Thu 18 Aug 1892 William Gladstone's fourth Ministry (Liberal)
92 Sat 4 Mar 1893 Grover Cleveland began second term as President of U.S.A.
93 Sat 3 Mar 1894 Succession of Earl of Rosebery as Prime Minister (Liberal)
Her grandson, Reuben MIDDLETON partnered Annie NO_SURNAME
94 Tue 2 Jul 1895 Marquess of Salisbury's third Ministry (Conservative)
Her grandson, Walter MIDDLETON partnered Anna GIBBS
96 Thu 4 Mar 1897 William McKinley became 32nd President of U.S.A.
96 Sun 20 Jun 1897 Diamond Jubilee of Victoria
98 Wed 11 Oct 1899 Second Boer War began
100 Tue 22 Jan 1901 Accession of Edward VII on death of Victoria
100 1901 She was probably dead by now

DERIVED INFORMATION
-------------------
MARRIED ONCE
 1801 She was born to unknown parents
1822 She came of age at 21
10 Oct 1828 When she was 27 she married John HAMMONDS, aged 21
25 Jul 1829 When she was 28 her first child (of 5), Elizabeth HAMMONDS was born
6 Jun 1841 Predicted census return: Catherine HAMMONDS, Married, 40, Shearsby, Leicestershire, England
30 Mar 1851 Predicted census return: Catherine HAMMONDS, Married, 50, Shearsby, Leicestershire, England
1853 When she was 52 her first grandchild (of 8), Catherine HAMMONDS was born
7 Apr 1861 Predicted census return: Catherine HAMMONDS, Married, 60, Shearsby, Leicestershire, England
2 Apr 1871 Predicted census return: Catherine HAMMONDS, Married, 70, Shearsby, Leicestershire, England
31 Dec 1879 Her husband for 51 years, John HAMMONDS died, aged 72
3 Apr 1881 Predicted census return: Catherine HAMMONDS, Widowed, 80, Shearsby, Leicestershire, England
5 Apr 1891 Predicted census return: Catherine HAMMONDS, Widowed, 90, Shearsby, Leicestershire, England
31 Mar 1901 Predicted census return: Catherine HAMMONDS, Widowed, 100, Shearsby, Leicestershire, England

SELECTED KIN ALIVE AT 1911
Elizabeth HAMMONDS daughter 81 Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
Ann HAMMONDS daughter 80 Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
William HAMMONDS son 78 Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
John HAMMONDS son 76 Leicestershire, England
Emma HAMMONDS daughter 70 Hinckley, Leicestershire, England

THE FOLLOWING ARE INCLUDED IF THEY WERE BORN BEFORE END OF BIOGRAPH:
5 Children
1 Spouse
8 Grandchildren