Today is -

Smith Biograph

Edward SMITH

Age Date

Details

Abt 1780

He was born

1780 General Election in Great Britain
1 Fri 19 Oct 1781 Lord Cornwallis surrendered to General George Washington at Yorktown Virginia to end the American War of Independence
2 Wed 27 Mar 1782 Marquess of Rockingham became Prime Minister (Whig)
2 Sat 13 Jul 1782 Earl of Shelburne became Prime Minister (Whig)
3 Fri 4 Apr 1783 Duke of Portland became Prime Minister of Coalition Government
4 Apr 1784 General Election in Great Britain
5 Tue 25 Oct 1785 Silver Jubilee of George III

9

Wed 4 Mar 1789

George Washington became 1st President of U.S.A.

9 Tue 14 Jul 1789 Storming of the Bastille by the citizens of Paris began the French Revolution
13 Mon 4 Mar 1793 George Washington began second term as President of U.S.A.
16 1796 General Election in Great Britain
17 Sun 26 Feb 1797 One Pound notes were first issued by the Bank of England
17 Sat 4 Mar 1797 John Adams became 3rd President of U.S.A.
21 1801 General Election in Great Britain
21 Wed 4 Mar 1801 Thomas Jefferson became 4th President of U.S.A.
21 Sat 21 Mar 1801 Henry Addington became Prime Minister (Tory)
22 1802 General Election in Great Britain
24 Wed 16 May 1804 William Pitt returned as Prime Minister (Tory)
24 Fri 18 May 1804 Napoleon Bonaparte was proclaimed Emperor of France
He partnered (no Hardwicke's Act certificate?) Elizabeth NO_SURNAME
25 Mon 4 Mar 1805 Thomas Jefferson began second term as President of U.S.A.
25 Sat 5 Oct 1805 Admiral Lord Nelson died at Battle of Trafalgar
26 1806 General Election in Great Britain
26 Jan 1806 Death of William Pitt
26 Mon 10 Feb 1806 Lord Grenville became Prime Minister of Coalition Government
27 1807 General Election in Great Britain
27 Tue 31 Mar 1807 Duke of Portland became Prime Minister (Tory)
29 1809 South Stack lighthouse built
29 Wed 6 Dec 1809 James Madison became 6th President of U.S.A.
29 Wed 6 Dec 1809 Spencer Perceval became Prime Minister (Tory)
30 Thu 25 Oct 1810 Golden Jubilee of George III
31 Tue 5 Feb 1811 Act of Regency proclaimed George IV Head of State
32 1812 General Election in Great Britain
32 1812 Mill owner William Horsfall shot and killed by Luddites in Huddersfield. Seventeen men sentenced to hang at York
32 1812 Prime Minister Spencer Perceval shot and killed by John Bellingham a mentally deranged commercial agent who was acclaimed by the Luddites as a hero
32 Tue 16 Jun 1812 Earl of Liverpool became Prime Minister (Tory)
32 Tue 28 Jul 1812 Rose's Act (52 Geo.III. Cap. 146.) passed requiring separate registers for Baptisms & Burials
33 Thu 4 Mar 1813 James Madison began second term as President of U.S.A.
35 Sun 18 Jun 1815 Final defeat of Napoleon at the Battle of Waterloo by Wellington and Blucher
37 Tue 4 Mar 1817 James Monroe became 8th President of U.S.A.
38 1818 General Election in Great Britain
40 1820 General Election in Great Britain
40 Sat 29 Jan 1820 Accession of George IV when George III died at Windsor Castle
41 Sun 4 Mar 1821 James Monroe began second term as President of U.S.A.
44 Sun 9 May 1824 His daughter, Sophia SMITH was baptised in Loughborough, Leicestershire, England
45 Fri 4 Mar 1825 John Quincy Adams became 10th President of U.S.A.
46 1826 The 286 mile A5 from London to Holyhead was completed by Thomas Telford. Journey time by horse-drawn coach: 27 hours
46 1826 Thomas Telford's Britannia Bridge opened
47 Mon 30 Apr 1827 George Canning became Prime Minister (Tory)
47 Sat 8 Sep 1827 Viscount Goderich became Prime Minister (Tory)
48 1828 General Election in Great Britain
48 Sat 26 Jan 1828 Duke of Wellington became Prime Minister (Tory)
49 Wed 4 Mar 1829 Andrew Jackson became 11th President of U.S.A.
50 Sat 26 Jun 1830 Accession of William IV on death of George IV
50 Jul 1830 General Election in Great Britain
50 Mon 15 Nov 1830 Wellington's government defeated
50 Wed 24 Nov 1830 Earl Grey became Prime Minister (Whig)
51 May 1831 General Election in Great Britain
51 Sat 8 Oct 1831 Russell's Reform Bill defeated
51 Dec 1831 County freeholders-property worth 2 a year; County copyholders renting at 10 a year; County 10 leaseholders with 60 year leases; County 50 leaseholders with 20 year leases
52 Jun 1832 House of Lords reluctantly passed the Great Reform Bill abolishing 'Rotten Boroughs'
52 Dec 1832 General Election. Franchise: Borough householders-property worth 10 a year
53 Mon 4 Mar 1833 Andrew Jackson began second term as President of U.S.A.
54 1834 Boards of Guardians set up to administer the Poor Law
54 Sun 13 Jul 1834 Viscount Melbourne became Prime Minister (Whig)
54 Fri 26 Dec 1834 Sir Robert Peel became Prime Minister (Tory)
55 1835 General Election in Great Britain
55 Thu 1 Jan 1835 Strike in Cornish Tin Mines
55 Wed 18 Mar 1835 Viscount Melbourne became Prime Minister (Whig)
56 1836 Tithe Commutation Act allowed tithes to be commuted to a rent-charge
58 1837 General Election in Great Britain
58 Sat 4 Mar 1837 Martin van Buren became 13th President of U.S.A.
58 Tue 20 Jun 1837 Accession of Victoria on death of William IV
58 Sat 1 Jul 1837 Compulsory Civil Registration of Marriages and Deaths began in England & Wales
58 Sat 1 Jul 1837 Voluntary Civil Registration of Births began in England & Wales
58 Tue 28 Aug 1838 His grandson, Samuel SMITH was born in Ashby Place, Loughborough, Leicestershire, England
60 Tue 29 Dec 1840 His granddaughter, Martha SMITH was born
61 1841 General Election in Great Britain
61 Thur 4 Mar 1841 William Henry Harrison became 14th President of U.S.A.
61 Sun 4 Apr 1841 John Tyler became 15th President of U.S.A.
61 Sun 6 Jun 1841 Census in United Kingdom (Public Record H0 107) 1st to list names
61 Mon 6 Sep 1841 Sir Robert Peel became Prime Minister (Tory)
65 Tue 4 Mar 1845 James K Polk became 16th President of U.S.A.
66 Mon 6 Jul 1846 Lord Russell became Prime Minister (Whig)
67 1847 General Election in Great Britain
67 1847 The oldest lifeboat station in Wales was built at Holyhead
68 Fri 31 Mar 1848 First Train to Holyhead from Llanfair P.G.
69 Sun 4 Mar 1849 Zackary Taylor became 17th President of U.S.A.
70 Tue 5 Mar 1850 Stephenson's Britannia Bridge for trains was opened after 4 years building
70 Tue 9 Jul 1850 Millard Fillimore became 18th President of U.S.A.
71 Sun 30 Mar 1851 Census in United Kingdom (Public Record H0 107) 1st to list relationships
71 Thur 1 May 1851 The Great Exhibition housed in the Crystal Palace in Hyde Park London was opened by Queen Victoria
72 Sat 28 Feb 1852 Earl Derby became Prime Minister (Tory)
72 Jul 1852 General Election in Great Britain
72 Tue 28 Dec 1852 Earl of Aberdeen became Prime Minister (Peelite)
73 Fri 4 Mar 1853 Franklin Pierce became 19th President of U.S.A.
75 1855 W.O. Stanley built Holyhead's Market Hall
75 Mon 1 Jan 1855 Civil Registration of Births/Marriages/Deaths began in Scotland
75 Sat 10 Feb 1855 Viscount Palmerston became Prime Minister (Liberal)
77 1857 General Election in Great Britain
77 Wed 4 Mar 1857 James Buchanan became 20th President of U.S.A.
78 Mon 11 Jan 1858 Civil jurisdiction of Probate came into effect
78 Thu 25 Feb 1858 Earl of Derby became Prime Minister (Conservative)
79 1859 General Election in Great Britain
79 Sat 18 Jun 1859 Viscount Palmerston's second Ministry (Liberal)
81 Mon 1 Mar 1861 Abraham Lincoln became 21st President of U.S.A.
81 Sun 7 Apr 1861 Census in United Kingdom (Public Record RG 9)
83 Tue 10 Mar 1863 Prince of Wales (Edward VII) married Princess Alexardra of Denmark at Windsor
85 1865 General Election in Great Britain
85 Sat 4 Mar 1865 Abraham Lincoln began 2nd term as President of U.S.A.
85 Fri 14 Apr 1865 Abraham Lincoln shot through the head by John Wilkes Booth and died the following day
85 Sat 15 Apr 1865 Andrew Johnson became 23rd President of U.S.A.
85 Mon 6 Nov 1865 Earl Russell became Prime Minister (Liberal)
86 Fri 6 Jul 1866 Earl of Derby became Prime Minister (Conservative)
87 1867 Second Reform Act
88 1868 General Election in Great Britain under the new franchise: Male Borough Householders resident for one year; Borough heads of families in unfurnished rooms 10 a year; County owners and leaseholders rated at 5 a year; County tenants of property
88 Thu 27 Feb 1868 Benjamin Disraeli became Prime Minister (Conservative)
88 Wed 9 Dec 1868 William Gladstone became Prime Minister (Liberal)
89 Thu 4 Mar 1869 Ulysses S Grant became 24th President of U.S.A.
91 1871 Stanley sailor's hospital, Holyhead founded by public subscription
91 Sun 2 Apr 1871 Census in United Kingdom (Public Record RG 10)
93 Wed 1 Jan 1873 Japan adopted the Gregorian Calendar (previously Japanese Calendar)
93 Tue 4 Mar 1873 Ulysses S Grant began 2nd term as President of U.S.A.
94 1874 General Election in Great Britain
94 Sat 21 Feb 1874 Benjamin Disraeli's 2nd Ministry (Conservative)
95 1875 Civil registration of births became compulsory in England and Wales
97 Sun 4 Mar 1877 Rutherford B Hayes became 26th President of U.S.A.
100 Thu 1 Jan 1880 School attendance became compulsory up to the age of 10
100 1880 He was probably dead by now

DERIVED INFORMATION
-------------------
MARRIED ONCE
1780 He was born to unknown parents
1801 He came of age at 21
9 May 1824 When he was 44 his first child (of 4), Sophia SMITH was born
28 Aug 1838 When he was 58 his first grandchild (of 4), Samuel SMITH was born
6 Jun 1841 Predicted census return: Edward SMITH, Unmarried, 61 (rounded to 60)
30 Mar 1851 Predicted census return: Edward SMITH, Unmarried, 71
7 Apr 1861 Predicted census return: Edward SMITH, Unmarried, 81
2 Apr 1871 Predicted census return: Edward SMITH, Unmarried, 91

SELECTED KIN ALIVE AT 1890
Elizabeth SMITH daughter 28 Leicester, Leicestershire, England
Sophia SMITH daughter 65
Samuel SMITH grandson 51 Ashby Place, Loughborough, Leicestershire, England
Martha SMITH granddaughter 48

THE FOLLOWING ARE INCLUDED IF THEY WERE BORN BEFORE END OF BIOGRAPH:
4 Children
4 Grandchildren