Today is -

Needham Biograph

John NEEDEHA

Age Date

Details

Abt 1575 He was born

7

Sat 24 Feb 1582

Pope Gregory XIII enacted a new calendar. Ten days were omitted and the last years of centuries were not to be leap years unless divisible by 400

7

Thu 4 Oct 1582

Last day when Julian calendar was in use in Rome

7

Fri 5 Oct 1582

Became 15 Oct 1582 in Portugal and Spain

7

Fri 5 Oct 1582

Became 15 Oct 1582 in Rome and most of Italy

7

Mon 22 Oct 1582

Became 1 Nov 1582 in Hungary

7

10 Dec 1582

Became 20 Dec 1582 in France and French Colonies

7

Sat 22 Dec 1582

Became 1 Jan 1583 in Belgium, Flanders, Catholic Netherlands, Holland and Zealand

8

Thu 14 Feb 1583

Became 24 Feb 1583 in Augsburg (Germany)

8

Sun 6 Oct 1583

Became 16 Oct 1583 in Austria (Tyrol) and Bavaria

8

Sun 17 Nov 1583

Silver Jubilee of Elizabeth I

9

Tue 7 Jan 1584

Became 17 Jan 1584 in Bohemia

9

Sun 12 Jan 1584

Became 22 Jan 1584 in Roman Catholic Switzerland

9

Mon 13 Jan 1584

Became 23 Jan 1584 in Lousitz and Silesia (Germany)

10

Thu 17 Jun 1585

Became 27 Jun 1585 in Paderborn (Germany)

12

Wed 8 Feb 1587

Execution of Mary Queen of Scots at Fotheringhay Castle

13

Mon 29 Jul 1588

Defeat of the Spanish Armada sent by Philip II to invade England

23

1598

Parish registers required on parchment. Entries from 1558 copied

25 Abt 1600 His son, George NEEDHAM was born
He partnered Johan NO_SURNAME (aged ?)

28

Thu 24 Mar 1603

Accession of James I (of England) previously James VI of Scotland

28

Thu 24 Mar 1603

Death of Elizabeth I in Richmond Palace aged 69

28

Thu 28 Apr 1603

Funeral of Elizabeth I at Westminster Abbey

28

Mon 25 Jul 1603

Coronation of James I

30 Abt 1605 His son, John NEEDHAM was born
30 Abt 1605 His son, William NEEDHAM was born
37 Sun 23 Aug 1612 Became 2 Sep 1612 in Prussia
40 Thu 14 Dec 1615 Became 24 Dec 1615 in Pfalz-Neuberg (Germany)
His son, George NEEDHAM partnered Martha NO_SURNAME
50 Sun 27 Mar 1625 Accession of Charles I on death of James I at Cheshunt Hertfordshire
52 1627 His granddaughter, Alice NEEDHAM was baptised
55 Sat 29 May 1630 King Charles II born at St James's Palace son of Charles I and Henrietta Maria
59 1634 His grandson, William NEEDHAM was baptised
67 Mon 22 Aug 1642 Civil War in England began when Charles raised his standard at Nottingham
74 Tue 30 Jan 1649 Charles I beheaded at Whitehall Palace. Retrospective start of reign of Charles II
74 Wed 14 Feb 1649 Government by a Council of State was established
74 Sat 17 Mar 1649 Kingship was abolished
78 Fri 16 Dec 1653 Oliver Cromwell took Oath of Office as Lord Protector
83 Fri 3 Sep 1658 Succession of Richard Cromwell on death of his father Oliver Cromwell
84 Tue 24 May 1659 Abdication of Richard Cromwell from office of Lord Protector
85 Sat 5 May 1660 Charles II proclaimed King (de jure King from 30 Jan 1649)
85 Tue 29 May 1660 Restoration of Charles II on his arrival in London
91 Sun 2 Sep 1666 The Great Fire of London began at Pudding Lane
91 Thu 6 Sep 1666 The Great Fire of London burnt itself out
99 Fri 30 Jan 1674 Silver Jubilee of Charles II
100 1675 He died

DERIVED INFORMATION
-------------------
MARRIED ONCE
1575 He was born to unknown parents
1596 He came of age at 21
1600 When he was 25 his first child (of 5), George NEEDHAM was born
1627 When he was 52 his first grandchild (of 6), Alice NEEDHAM was born
1675 He died at the age of 100, survived by all of his 5 children

SELECTED KIN ALIVE AT 1675
George NEEDHAM son 75
John NEEDHAM son 70
William NEEDHAM son 70
Alice NEEDHAM granddaughter 48
William NEEDHAM grandson 41


THE FOLLOWING ARE INCLUDED IF THEY WERE BORN BEFORE END OF BIOGRAPH:
5 Children
6 Grandchildren