Today is -

King Biograph

Thomas KING

Age Date

Details

Abt 1773 He was born
Thu 16 Dec 1773 The 'Boston Tea Party' took place off Griffin's Wharf in Boston Massachusetts as a protest against British taxation
1 1774 General Election in Great Britain
3 Thu 4 Jul 1776 The Declaration of Independence was adopted in Philadelphia
7 1780 General Election in Great Britain
8 Fri 19 Oct 1781 Lord Cornwallis surrendered to General George Washington at Yorktown Virginia to end the American War of Independence
9 Wed 27 Mar 1782 Marquess of Rockingham became Prime Minister (Whig)
9 Sat 13 Jul 1782 Earl of Shelburne became Prime Minister (Whig)
10 Fri 4 Apr 1783 Duke of Portland became Prime Minister of Coalition Government
11 Apr 1784 General Election in Great Britain
12 Tue 25 Oct 1785 Silver Jubilee of George III
16 Wed 4 Mar 1789 George Washington became 1st President of U.S.A.
16 Tue 14 Jul 1789 Storming of the Bastille by the citizens of Paris began the French Revolution
20 Mon 4 Mar 1793 George Washington began second term as President of U.S.A.
21 Abt 1794 Coming of age
22 Abt 1795 His son, William KING was born in Stockingford, (mother aged ?)
22 Sun 5 Apr 1795 His son, William KING was baptised in Nuneaton, WAR
23 1796 General Election in Great Britain
24 Sun 26 Feb 1797 One Pound notes were first issued by the Bank of England
24 Sat 4 Mar 1797 John Adams became 3rd President of U.S.A.
He "married" (no Hardwicke's Act certificate?) Elizabeth N0_SURNAHE
28 1801 General Election in Great Britain
28 Wed 4 Mar 1801 Thomas Jefferson became 4th President of U.S.A.
28 Sat 21 Mar 1801 Henry Addington became Prime Minister (Tory)
29 1802 General Election in Great Britain
31 Wed 16 May 1804 William Pitt returned as Prime Minister (Tory)
31 Fri 18 May 1804 Napoleon Bonaparte was proclaimed Emperor of France
32 Mon 4 Mar 1805 Thomas Jefferson began second term as President of U.S.A.
32 Sat 5 Oct 1805 Admiral Lord Nelson died at Battle of Trafalgar
33 1806 General Election in Great Britain
33 Jan 1806 Death of William Pitt
33 Mon 10 Feb 1806 Lord Grenville became Prime Minister of Coalition Government
34 1807 General Election in Great Britain
34 Tue 31 Mar 1807 Duke of Portland became Prime Minister (Tory)
36 1809 South Stack lighthouse built
36 Wed 6 Dec 1809 James Madison became 6th President of U.S.A.
36 Wed 6 Dec 1809 Spencer Perceval became Prime Minister (Tory)
37 Thu 25 Oct 1810 Golden Jubilee of George III
38 Tue 5 Feb 1811 Act of Regency proclaimed George IV Head of State
39 1812 General Election in Great Britain
39 1812 Mill owner William Horsfall shot and killed by Luddites in Huddersfield. Seventeen men sentenced to hang at York
39 1812 Prime Minister Spencer Perceval shot and killed by John Bellingham a mentally deranged commercial agent who was acclaimed by the Luddites as a hero
39 Tue 16 Jun 1812 Earl of Liverpool became Prime Minister (Tory)
39 Tue 28 Jul 1812 Rose's Act (52 Geo.III. Cap. 146.) passed requiring separate registers for Baptisms & Burials
40 Thu 4 Mar 1813 James Madison began second term as President of U.S.A.
42 Sun 18 Jun 1815 Final defeat of Napoleon at the Battle of Waterloo by Wellington and Blucher
44 Tue 4 Mar 1817 James Monroe became 8th President of U.S.A.
45 1818 General Election in Great Britain
47 1820 General Election in Great Britain
47 1820 Accession of George IV when George III died at Windsor Castle
47 Sun 14 May 1820 His son, William KING married Sarah FR0GGETT in Bedworth, WAR
48 Sun 4 Mar 1821 James Monroe began second term as President of U.S.A.
51 Abt 1824 His granddaughter, Elizabeth KING was born in Kenilworth, WAR (mother aged 28)
52 Fri 4 Mar 1825 John Quincy Adams became 10th President of U.S.A.
53 1826 The 286 mile A5 from London to Holyhead was completed by Thomas Telford. Journey time by horse-drawn coach: 27 hours
53 1826 Thomas Telford's Britannia Bridge opened
54 Mon 30 Apr 1827 George Canning became Prime Minister (Tory)
54 Sat 8 Sep 1827 Viscount Goderich became Prime Minister (Tory)
55 1828 General Election in Great Britain
55 Sat 26 Jan 1828 Duke of Wellington became Prime Minister (Tory)
56 Wed 4 Mar 1829 Andrew Jackson became 11th President of U.S.A.
57 Sat 26 Jun 1830 Accession of William IV on death of George IV
57 Jul 1830 General Election in Great Britain
57 Mon 15 Nov 1830 Wellington's government defeated
57 Wed 24 Nov 1830 Earl Grey became Prime Minister (Whig)
58 May 1831 General Election in Great Britain
58 Sat 8 Oct 1831 Russell's Reform Bill defeated
58 Dec 1831 County freeholders-property worth 2 a year; County copyholders renting at 10 a year; County 10 leaseholders with 60 year leases; County 50 leaseholders with 20 year leases
59 Jun 1832 House of Lords reluctantly passed the Great Reform Bill abolishing 'Rotten Boroughs'
59 Dec 1832 General Election. Franchise: Borough householders-property worth 10 a year
60 Mon 4 Mar 1833 Andrew Jackson began second term as President of U.S.A.
61 1834 Boards of Guardians set up to administer the Poor Law
61 Sun 13 Jul 1834 Viscount Melbourne became Prime Minister (Whig)
61 Fri 26 Dec 1834 Sir Robert Peel became Prime Minister (Tory)
62 1835 General Election in Great Britain
62 Thu 1 Jan 1835 Strike in Cornish Tin Mines
63 1836 Tithe Commutation Act allowed tithes to be commuted to a rent-charge
64 1837 General Election in Great Britain
64 Sat 4 Mar 1837 Martin van Buren became 13th President of U.S.A.
64 Tue 20 Jun 1837 Accession of Victoria on death of William IV
64 Sat 1 Jul 1837 Compulsory Civil Registration of Marriages and Deaths began in England & Wales
64 Sat 1 Jul 1837 Voluntary Civil Registration of Births began in England & Wales
68 1841 General Election in Great Britain
68 Thu 4 Mar 1841 William Henry Harrison became 14th President of U.S.A.
68 Sun 4 Apr 1841 John Tyler became 15th President of U.S.A.
68 Sun 6 Jun 1841 Census in United Kingdom (Public Record HO 107) 1st to list names
68 Mon 6 Sep 1841 Sir Robert Peel became Prime Minister (Tory)
71 Mon 14 Oct 1844 His granddaughter, Elizabeth KING married Joseph STRINGER in P.C. Nuneaton, WAR.
72 1845 Work started on 2.4 km Holyhead breakwater, designed by James Meadows Rendel and completed in 1873
72 Tue 4 Mar 1845 James K. Polk became 16th President of U.S.A.
73 Mon 6 Jul 1846 Lord John Russell became Prime Minister (Whig)
74 1847 General Election in Great Britain
74 1847 The oldest lifeboat station in Wales was built at Holyhead
75 Fri 31 Mar 1848 First Train to Holyhead from Llanfair P.G.
76 Sun 4 Mar 1849 Zachary Taylor became 17th President of U.S.A.
77 Tue 5 Mar 1850 Stephenson's Britannia Bridge for trains was opened after 4 years building
77 Tue 9 Jul 1850 Millard Fillimore became 18th President of U.S.A.
78 Sun 30 Mar 1851 Census in United Kingdom (Public Record HO 107) 1st to list relationships
78 Thu 1 May 1851 The Great Exhibition housed in the Crystal Palace in Hyde Park London was opened by Queen Victoria
79 Sat 28 Feb 1852 Earl of Derby became Prime Minister (Tory)
79 Jul 1852 General Election in Great Britain
79 Tue 14 Sep 1852 Duke of Wellington died at Walmer Castle, Kent
79 Tue 28 Dec 1852 Earl of Aberdeen became Prime Minister (Peelite)
80 Fri 4 Mar 1853 Franklin Pierce became 19th President of U.S.A.
82 1855 W.O. Stanley built Holyhead's Market Hall
82 Mon 1 Jan 1855 Civil Registration of Births/Marriages/Deaths began in Scotland
82 Sat 10 Feb 1855 Viscount Palmerston became Prime Minister (Liberal)
84 1857 General Election in Great Britain
84 Wed 4 Mar 1857 James Buchanan became 20th President of U.S.A.
85 Mon 11 Jan 1858 Civil jurisdiction of Probate came into effect
85 Thu 25 Feb 1858 Earl of Derby became Prime Minister (Conservative)
86 1859 General Election in Great Britain
86 1859 The sailing vessel 'Royal Charter' was sunk off Moelfre, Anglesey with loss of over 450 lives
86 Sat 18 Jun 1859 Viscount Palmerston's second Ministry (Liberal)
88 Mon 4 Mar 1861 Abraham Lincoln became 21st President of U.S.A.
88 Sun 7 Apr 1861 Census in United Kingdom (Public Record RG 9)
89 Fri 20 Jun 1862 Silver Jubilee of Victoria
90 Tue 10 Mar 1863 Prince of Wales (Edward VII) married Princess Alexandra of Denmark at Windsor
92 1865 General Election in Great Britain
92 Sat 4 Mar 1865 Abraham Lincoln began second term as President of U.S.A.
92 Fri 14 Apr 1865 Abraham Lincoln shot through the head by John Wilkes Booth and died the following day
92 Sat 15 Apr 1865 Andrew Johnson became 23rd President of U.S.A.
92 Mon 6 Nov 1865 Earl Russell became Prime Minister (Liberal)
93 Fri 6 Jul 1866 Earl of Derby became Prime Minister (Conservative)
94 1867 Second Reform Act
95 1868 General Election in Great Britain under the new franchise: Male borough householders resident for 1 year; Borough heads of families in unfurnished rooms 10 a year; County owners and leaseholders rated at 5 a year; County tenants of property
95 Thu 27 Feb 1868 Benjamin Disraeli became Prime Minister (Conservative)
95 Wed 9 Dec 1868 William Gladstone became Prime Minister (Liberal)
96 Thu 4 Mar 1869 Ulysses S. Grant became 24th President of U.S.A.
98 1871 Stanley sailor's hospital, Holyhead founded by public subscription
98 Sun 2 Apr 1871 Census in United Kingdom (Public Record RG 10)
100 Wed 1 Jan 1873 Japan adopted the Gregorian Calendar (previously Japanese Calendar)
100 He was probably dead by now

 

DERIVED INFORMATION

MARRIED ONCE
 1773 He was born to unknown parents
1794 He came of age at 21
1795 When he was 22 his first child (of 1), William KING was born
1824 When he was 51 his first grandchild (of 1), Elizabeth KING was born
6 Jun 1841 Predicted census return: Thomas KING, Unmarried, 68 (rounded to 70)
30 Mar 1851 Predicted census return: Thomas KING, Unmarried, 78
7 Apr 1861 Predicted census return: Thomas KING, Unmarried, 88
2 Apr 1871 Predicted census return: Thomas KING, Unmarried, 98
3 Apr 1881 Predicted census return: Thomas KING, Unmarried, 108
 
SELECTED KIN ALIVE AT 1883

William KING son 88 Stockingford, Warwickshire, England
Elizabeth KING granddaughter 59 Kenilworth, Warwickshire, England

 

THE FOLLOWING ARE INCLUDED IF THEY WERE BORN BEFORE END OF BIOGRAPH:
1 Child
1 Grandchild