Today is -

Hammonds Biograph

Joseph HAMMONDS (or HAMMANS)

Age Date

Details

Abt 1777 He was born
3 1780 General Election in Great Britain
4 Abt 1781 His future wife, Isabella WOODWARD was born
4 Fri 19 Oct 1781 Lord Cornwallis surrendered to General George Washington at Yorktown Virginia to end the American War of Independence
5 Wed 27 Mar 1782 Marquess of Rockingham became Prime Minister (Whig)
5 Sat 13 Jul 1782 Earl of Shelburne became Prime Minister (Whig)
6 Fri 4 Apr 1783 Duke of Portland became Prime Minister of Coalition Government
7 Apr 1784 General Election in Great Britain
8 Tue 25 Oct 1785 Silver Jubilee of George III
12 Wed 4 Mar 1789 George Washington became 1st President of U.S.A.
12 Tue 14 Jul 1789 Storming of the Bastille by the citizens of Paris began the French Revolution
16 Mon 4 Mar 1793 George Washington began second term as President of U.S.A.
19 1796 General Election in Great Britain
20 Sun 26 Feb 1797 One Pound notes were first issued by the Bank of England
20 Sat 4 Mar 1797 John Adams became 3rd President of U.S.A.
24 1801 General Election in Great Britain
24 Wed 4 Mar 1801 Thomas Jefferson became 4th President of U.S.A.
24 Sat 21 Mar 1801 Henry Addington became Prime Minister (Tory)
25 1802 General Election in Great Britain
27 Wed 16 May 1804 William Pitt returned as Prime Minister (Tory)
27 Fri 18 May 1804 Napoleon Bonaparte was proclaimed Emperor of France
28 Fri 25 Jan 1805 He married Isabella WOODWARD (aged 24) in Barwell, Leicestershire, England
28 Mon 4 Mar 1805 Thomas Jefferson began second term as President of U.S.A.
28 Sat 5 Oct 1805 Admiral Lord Nelson died at Battle of Trafalgar
29 1806 General Election in Great Britain
29 Jan 1806 Death of William Pitt
29 Mon 10 Feb 1806 Lord Grenville became Prime Minister of Coalition Government
30 1807 General Election in Great Britain
30 Tue 31 Mar 1807 Duke of Portland became Prime Minister (Tory)
30 Sun 17 May 1807 His son, John HAMMONDS was baptised in Dadlington, Leicestershire, England
32 1809 South Stack lighthouse built
32 Wed 6 Dec 1809 James Madison became 6th President of U.S.A.
32 Tue 15 Aug 1809 His daughter, Ann HAMMONDS was baptised in Dadlington, Leicestershire, England
32 Wed 6 Dec 1809 Spencer Perceval became Prime Minister (Tory)
33 Thu 25 Oct 1810 Golden Jubilee of George III
34 Tue 5 Feb 1811 Act of Regency proclaimed George IV Head of State
35 1812 General Election in Great Britain
35 1812 Mill owner William Horsfall shot and killed by Luddites in Huddersfield. Seventeen men sentenced to hang at York
35 1812 Prime Minister Spencer Perceval shot and killed by John Bellingham a mentally deranged commercial agent who was acclaimed by the Luddites as a hero
35 Tue 16 Jun 1812 Earl of Liverpool became Prime Minister (Tory)
35 Tue 28 Jul 1812 Rose's Act (52 Geo.III. Cap. 146.) passed requiring separate registers for Baptisms & Burials
36 Thu 4 Mar 1813 James Madison began second term as President of U.S.A.
38 Sun 18 Jun 1815 Final defeat of Napoleon at the Battle of Waterloo by Wellington and Blcher
40 Tue 4 Mar 1817 James Monroe became 8th President of U.S.A.
41 1818 General Election in Great Britain
43 1820 General Election in Great Britain
43 1820 Accession of George IV when George III died at Windsor Castle
44 Sun 4 Mar 1821 James Monroe began second term as President of U.S.A.
48 Fri 4 Mar 1825 John Quincy Adams became 10th President of U.S.A.
49 1826 The 286 mile A5 from London to Holyhead was completed by Thomas Telford. Journey time by horse-drawn coach: 27 hours
49 1826 Thomas Telford's Britannia Bridge opened
50 Mon 30 Apr 1827 George Canning became Prime Minister (Tory)
50 Sat 8 Sep 1827 Viscount Goderich became Prime Minister (Tory)
51 1828 General Election in Great Britain
51 Sat 26 Jan 1828 Duke of Wellington became Prime Minister (Tory)
51 Fri 10 Oct 1828 His son, John HAMMONDS married Catherine SWAIN in St Mary PC, Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
52 Wed 4 Mar 1829 Andrew Jackson became 11th President of U.S.A.
52 Sat 25 Jul 1829 His granddaughter, Elizabeth HAMMONDS was born in Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
53 Sat 26 Jun 1830 Accession of William IV on death of George IV
53 Jul 1830 General Election in Great Britain
53 Mon 15 Nov 1830 Wellington's government defeated
53 Wed 24 Nov 1830 Earl Grey became Prime Minister (Whig)
54 Abt 1831 His granddaughter, Ann HAMMONDS was born in Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
54 May 1831 General Election in Great Britain
54 Sat 8 Oct 1831 Russell's Reform Bill defeated
54 Dec 1831 County freeholders-property worth £2 a year; County copyholders renting at £10 a year; County £10 leaseholders with 60 year leases; County £50 leaseholders with 20 year leases
55 Jun 1832 House of Lords reluctantly passed the Great Reform Bill abolishing 'Rotten Boroughs'
55 Dec 1832 General Election. Franchise: Borough householders-property worth £10 a year
56 Abt 1833 His grandson, William HAMMONDS was born in Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
56 Mon 4 Mar 1833 Andrew Jackson began second term as President of U.S.A.
57 1834 Boards of Guardians set up to administer the Poor Law
57 Sun 13 Jul 1834 Viscount Melbourne became Prime Minister (Whig)
57 Fri 26 Dec 1834 Sir Robert Peel became Prime Minister (Tory)
58 Abt 1835 His grandson, John HAMMONDS was born in Leicestershire, England
58 1835 General Election in Great Britain
58 Thu 1 Jan 1835 Strike in Cornish Tin Mines
59 1836 Tithe Commutation Act allowed tithes to be commuted to a rent-charge
60 1837 General Election in Great Britain
60 Sat 4 Mar 1837 Martin van Buren became 13th President of U.S.A.
60 Tue 20 Jun 1837 Accession of Victoria on death of William IV
60 Sat 1 Jul 1837 Compulsory Civil Registration of Marriages and Deaths began in England & Wales
60 Sat 1 Jul 1837 Voluntary Civil Registration of Births began in England & Wales
64 Abt 1841 His granddaughter, Emma HAMMONDS was born in Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
64 1841 General Election in Great Britain
64 Thu 4 Mar 1841 William Henry Harrison became 14th President of U.S.A.
64 Sun 4 Apr 1841 John Tyler became 15th President of U.S.A.
64 Sun 6 Jun 1841 Census in United Kingdom (Public Record HO 107) 1st to list names
64 Mon 6 Sep 1841 Sir Robert Peel became Prime Minister (Tory)
68 1845 Work started on 2.4 km Holyhead breakwater, designed by James Meadows Rendel and completed in 1873
68 Tue 4 Mar 1845 James K. Polk became 16th President of U.S.A.
69 Mon 6 Jul 1846 Lord John Russell became Prime Minister (Whig)
70 1847 General Election in Great Britain
70 1847 The oldest lifeboat station in Wales was built at Holyhead
71 Fri 31 Mar 1848 First Train to Holyhead from Llanfair P.G.
72 Sun 4 Mar 1849 Zachary Taylor became 17th President of U.S.A.
73 Tue 5 Mar 1850 Stephenson's Britannia Bridge for trains was opened after 4 years building
73 Tue 9 Jul 1850 Millard Fillimore became 18th President of U.S.A.
74 Sun 30 Mar 1851 Census in United Kingdom (Public Record HO 107) 1st to list relationships
74 Thu 1 May 1851 The Great Exhibition housed in the Crystal Palace in Hyde Park London was opened by Queen Victoria
75 Sat 28 Feb 1852 Earl of Derby became Prime Minister (Tory)
75 Jul 1852 General Election in Great Britain
75 Tue 14 Sep 1852 Duke of Wellington died at Walmer Castle, Kent
75 Tue 28 Dec 1852 Earl of Aberdeen became Prime Minister (Peelite)
76 Fri 4 Mar 1853 Franklin Pierce became 19th President of U.S.A.
78 1855 W.O. Stanley built Holyhead's Market Hall
78 Mon 1 Jan 1855 Civil Registration of Births/Marriages/Deaths began in Scotland
78 Sat 10 Feb 1855 Viscount Palmerston became Prime Minister (Liberal)
78 Wed 14 Feb 1855 His wife, Isabella WOODWARD was buried in Dadlington, Leicestershire, England
80 1857 General Election in Great Britain
80 Wed 4 Mar 1857 James Buchanan became 20th President of U.S.A.
His grandson, William HAMMONDS partnered Mary Ann NO_SURNAME
81 Mon 11 Jan 1858 Civil jurisdiction of Probate came into effect
81 Thu 25 Feb 1858 Earl of Derby became Prime Minister (Conservative)
82 1859 General Election in Great Britain
82 1859 The sailing vessel 'Royal Charter' was sunk off Moelfre, Anglesey with loss of over 450 lives
82 Sat 18 Jun 1859 Viscount Palmerston's second Ministry (Liberal)
84 Abt 1861 His granddaughter, Ann HAMMONDS married ? BAGWORTH
84 Mon 4 Mar 1861 Abraham Lincoln became 21st President of U.S.A.
84 Sun 7 Apr 1861 Census in United Kingdom (Public Record RG 9)
84 Sun 27 Oct 1861 His granddaughter, Elizabeth HAMMONDS married Charles MIDDLETON in P.C. Market Bosworth, Leicestershire, England
85 Fri 20 Jun 1862 Silver Jubilee of Victoria
86 Tue 10 Mar 1863 Prince of Wales (Edward VII) married Princess Alexandra of Denmark at Windsor
88 1865 General Election in Great Britain
88 Sat 4 Mar 1865 Abraham Lincoln began second term as President of U.S.A.
88 Fri 14 Apr 1865 Abraham Lincoln shot through the head by John Wilkes Booth and died the following day
88 Sat 15 Apr 1865 Andrew Johnson became 23rd President of U.S.A.
88 Mon 6 Nov 1865 Earl Russell became Prime Minister (Liberal)
89 Fri 6 Jul 1866 Earl of Derby became Prime Minister (Conservative)
90 1867 Second Reform Act
90 Wed 17 Apr 1867 He was buried in Dadlington, Leicestershire, England

 

DERIVED INFORMATION

MARRIED ONCE
1777 He was born to unknown parents

1798 He came of age at 21

25 Jan 1805 When he was 28 he married Isabella WOODWARD, aged 24
17 May 1807 When he was 30 his first child (of 4), John HAMMONDS was born
25 Jul 1829 When he was 52 his first grandchild (of 5), Elizabeth HAMMONDS was born
6 Jun 1841 Predicted census return: Joseph HAMMONDS, Married, 64 (rounded to 65)
30 Mar 1851 Predicted census return: Joseph HAMMONDS, Married, 74
14 Feb 1855 His wife for 50 years, Isabella WOODWARD died, aged 74
7 Apr 1861 Predicted census return: Joseph HAMMONDS, Widowed, 84
17 Apr 1867 He died at the age of 90, survived by 3 of his 4 children
 
SELECTED KIN ALIVE AT Wed 17 Apr 1867
John HAMMONDS son 59
Ann HAMMONDS daughter 57
William HAMMONDS son ?
Elizabeth HAMMONDS granddaughter 37 Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
Ann HAMMONDS granddaughter 36 Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
William HAMMONDS grandson 34 Hinckley, Leicestershire, England
John HAMMONDS grandson 32 Leicestershire, England
Emma HAMMONDS granddaughter 26 Hinckley, Leicestershire, England

THE FOLLOWING ARE INCLUDED IF THEY WERE BORN BEFORE END OF BIOGRAPH:
4 Children
1 Spouse
5 Grandchildren