Today is -

Ball Biograph

Ann Phillis BALL

Age Date

Details

Abt 1738

She was born in Nuneaton, Warwickshire, England

Sun 4 Jun 1738

George III grandson of George II born at St James's Square London

3 1741 General Election in Great Britain
7 Mon 19 Aug 1745 Bonnie Prince Charlie raised the Stuart standard at Glenfinnan claiming the throne
8 Sat 20 Sep 1746 Bonnie Prince Charlie escaped from Scotland to France
9 1747 General Election in Great Britain
13 Sun 24 Mar 1751 Chesterfield's Act made this the last day of 1750/51 in Great Britain and it Colonies
13 Mon 25 Mar 1751 First day of the year 1752 in Great Britain and its Colonies
13 Tue 31 Dec 1751 Last day of the year 1751 in Great Britain and its Colonies
14 Wed 1 Jan 1752 First day of the year 1752 in Great Britain and its Colonies
14 Thu 11 Jun 1752 Silver Jubilee of George II
14 Wed 2 Sep 1752 Last day when the Julian Calendar was in use in Great Britain
14 Sun 3 Sep 1752 Became 14 Sep 1752 in Great Britain and its Colonies
15 Sun 18 Mar 1753 Became 1 Mar 1753 in Finland
16 1754 General Election in Great Britain
16 Mon 25 Mar 1754 Hardwicke's Act
22 Sat 25 Oct 1760 Accession of George III on death of his grandfather George II in Kensington
23 1761 General Election in Great Britain
24 May 1762 Marquis of Bute became head of government
25 Mon 14 Feb 1763 She married Samuell STRINGER in Nuneaton, Warwickshire, England
25 Apr 1763 Marquis of Bute resigned. Grenville became Prime Minister
27 1765 Marquess of Rockingham became Prime Minister
30 1768 General Election in Great Britain; Grafton appointed Chief Minister
31 Mon 1 May 1769 Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington born in Dublin
32 1770 George III appointed Lord North as Chief Minister
32 Tue 17 Apr 1770 Her son, Thomas STRINGER was baptised in Ansley, Warwickshire, England
35 Thu 16 Dec 1773 The 'Boston Tea Party' took place off Griffin's Wharf in Boston Massachusetts as a protest against British taxation
36 1774 General Election in Great Britain
38 Thu 4 Jul 1776 The Declaration of Independence was adopted in Philadelphia
42 1780 General Election in Great Britain
43 Fri 19 Oct 1781 Lord Cornwallis surrendered to General George Washington at Yorktown Virginia to end the American War of Independence
44 Wed 27 Mar 1782 Marquess of Rockingham became Prime Minister (Whig)
44 Sat 13 Jul 1782 Earl of Shelburne became Prime Minister (Whig)
45 Fri 4 Apr 1783 Duke of Portland became Prime Minister of Coalition Government
46 Apr 1784 General Election in Great Britain
47 Tue 25 Oct 1785 Silver Jubilee of George III
51 Wed 4 Mar 1789 George Washington became 1st President of U.S.A.
51 Tue 14 Jul 1789 Storming of the Bastille by the citizens of Paris began the French Revolution
55 Mon 4 Mar 1793 George Washington began second term as President of U.S.A.
58 1796 General Election in Great Britain
59 Sun 26 Feb 1797 One Pound notes were first issued by the Bank of England
59 Sat 4 Mar 1797 John Adams became 3rd President of U.S.A.
63 1801 General Election in Great Britain
63 Wed 4 Mar 1801 Thomas Jefferson became 4th President of U.S.A.
63 Sat 21 Mar 1801 Henry Addington became Prime Minister (Tory)
64 1802 General Election in Great Britain
66 Wed 16 May 1804 William Pitt returned as Prime Minister (Tory)
66 Fri 18 May 1804 Napoleon Bonaparte was proclaimed Emperor of France
67 Mon 4 Mar 1805 Thomas Jefferson began second term as President of U.S.A.
67 Sat 5 Oct 1805 Admiral Lord Nelson died at Battle of Trafalgar
68 1806 General Election in Great Britain
68 Jan 1806 Death of William Pitt
68 Mon 10 Feb 1806 Lord Grenville became Prime Minister of Coalition Government
69 1807 General Election in Great Britain
69 Tue 31 Mar 1807 Duke of Portland became Prime Minister (Tory)
71 1809 South Stack lighthouse built
71 Wed 6 Dec 1809 James Madison became 6th President of U.S.A.
71 Wed 6 Dec 1809 Spencer Perceval became Prime Minister (Tory)
72 Thu 25 Oct 1810 Golden Jubilee of George III
73 Tue 5 Feb 1811 Act of Regency proclaimed George IV Head of State
74 1812 General Election in Great Britain
74 1812 Mill owner William Horsfall shot and killed by Luddites in Huddersfield. Seventeen men sentenced to hang at York
74 1812 Prime Minister Spencer Perceval shot and killed by John Bellingham a mentally deranged commercial agent who was acclaimed by the Luddites as a hero
74 Tue 16 Jun 1812 Earl of Liverpool became Prime Minister (Tory)
74 Tue 28 Jul 1812 Rose's Act (52 Geo.III. Cap. 146.) passed requiring separate registers for Baptisms & Burials
75 Thu 4 Mar 1813 James Madison began second term as President of U.S.A.
77 Sun 18 Jun 1815 Final defeat of Napoleon at the Battle of Waterloo by Wellington and Blucher
79 Tue 4 Mar 1817 James Monroe became 8th President of U.S.A.
80 1818 General Election in Great Britain
82 1820 General Election in Great Britain
82 Sat 29 Jan 1820 Accession of George IV when George III died at Windsor Castle
83 Sun 4 Mar 1821 James Monroe began second term as President of U.S.A.
87 Fri 4 Mar 1825 John Quincy Adams became 10th President of U.S.A.
88 1826 The 286 mile A5 from London to Holyhead was completed by Thomas Telford. Journey time by horse-drawn coach: 27 hours
88 1826 Thomas Telford's Britannia Bridge opened
89 Mon 30 Apr 1827 George Canning became Prime Minister (Tory)
89 Sat 8 Sep 1827 Viscount Goderich became Prime Minister (Tory)
90 1828 General Election in Great Britain
90 Sat 26 Jan 1828 Duke of Wellington became Prime Minister (Tory)
91 Wed 4 Mar 1829 Andrew Jackson became 11th President of U.S.A.
92 Sat 26 Jun 1830 Accession of William IV on death of George IV
92 Jul 1830 General Election in Great Britain
92 Mon 15 Nov 1830 Wellington's government defeated
92 Wed 24 Nov 1830 Earl Grey became Prime Minister (Whig)
93 May 1831 General Election in Great Britain
93 Sat 8 Oct 1831 Russell's Reform Bill defeated
93 Dec 1831 County freeholders-property worth 2 a year; County copyholders renting at 10 a year; County 10 leaseholders with 60 year leases; County 50 leaseholders with 20 year leases
94 Jun 1832 House of Lords reluctantly passed the Great Reform Bill abolishing 'Rotten Boroughs'
94 Dec 1832 General Election. Franchise: Borough householders-property worth 10 a year
95 Mon 4 Mar 1833 Andrew Jackson began second term as President of U.S.A.
96 1834 Boards of Guardians set up to administer the Poor Law
96 Sun 13 Jul 1834 Viscount Melbourne became Prime Minister (Whig)
96 Fri 26 Dec 1834 Sir Robert Peel became Prime Minister (Tory)
97 1835 General Election in Great Britain
97 Thu 1 Jan 1835 Strike in Cornish Tin Mines
97 Wed 18 Mar 1835 Viscount Melbourne became Prime Minister (Whig)
98 1836 Tithe Commutation Act allowed tithes to be commuted to a rent-charge
99 1837 General Election in Great Britain
99 Sat 4 Mar 1837 Martin van Buren became 13th President of U.S.A.
99 Tue 20 Jun 1837 Accession of Victoria on death of William IV
99 Sat 1 Jul 1837 Compulsory Civil Registration of Marriages and Deaths began in England & Wales
99 Sat 1 Jul 1837 Voluntary Civil Registration of Births began in England & Wales
103 1841 General Election in Great Britain
103 1841 She was probably dead by now

DERIVED INFORMATION
-------------------
MARRIED ONCE
1738 She was born to unknown parents
1759 She came of age at 21
14 Feb 1763 When she was 25 she married Samuell STRINGER
17 Apr 1770 When she was 32 her first child (of 2), Thomas STRINGER was born
22 Feb 2015 After her death her first grandchild (of 2), was born

SELECTED KIN ALIVE AT 1848
Thomas STRINGER son 77

THE FOLLOWING ARE INCLUDED IF THEY WERE BORN BEFORE END OF BIOGRAPH:
2 Children
1 Spouse
2 Grandchildren